Stock Exchange release August 2, 2001 02:58:43 PM CET

INVITATION TO A NEWS CONFERENCE / CONFERENCE CALL

We invite your representative to a news conference, where Mr. Tor Bergman, President and CEO, and Mr. Sakari Tamminen, Executive Vice President and CFO of Metso Corporation will present the interim review.

The news conference will be held
on Tuesday, August 7, 2001 at 9.30 a.m. Finnish time (7.30 a.m. UK time, 2.30 a.m. US Eastern time)in Metso Corporation's headquarters (address: Fabianinkatu 9 A, 00101 Helsinki, Finland).

The news conference can also be followed live via Internet at the address http://www.metso.com -> Investor relations -> Presentations.

In addition, Metso's interim review will be presented in conference call to be arranged on August 7, 2001 at 16.00 Finnish time
(2.00 p.m. UK time, 9.00 a.m. US Eastern time).

Participants are requested to call in a few minutes prior to the start of the teleconference in
- US: +1 303 267 1021
- other countries: +44 (0)20 8240 8241
- The slide presentation can simultaneously be seen via Internet at address:
http://www.vcall.com/NASApp/VCall/EventPage?ID=77100
- A replay is available for 48 hours after the conference at
- US: +1 303 804 1855, access code 1151 925
- other countries: +44 (0)20 8288 4459, access code 624 142.

You are most welcome to participate in the news conference or the conference call.