Stock Exchange release October 23, 2002 01:42:41 PM CET

INVITATION TO A NEWS CONFERENCE

Metso Corporation's Interim Review January - September 2002 will be published October 30, 2002 at 12.00 pm Finnish time.
 
The news conference concerning Interim Review January - September will be held on
October 30, 2002 at
08:00 US EST
13:00 UK time
14:00 CET
15:00 Finnish time
at Metso Corporation's headquarters, Fabianinkatu 9 A, Helsinki.
 
The news conference can be followed live via Internet at the address www.metso.com.
 
Conference call
 
You will be able to follow the news conference also in a conference call to be arranged simultaneously. Conference call participants are requested to call in a few minutes prior to the start of teleconference in
US: +1 303 713 7898
other countries: +44 (0)20 8240 8242
 
- A replay is available for 48 hours after the conference in
US: +1 703 736 7336 (access code: 176 992)
other countries: +44 (0)20 8288 4459 (access code: 176 992).
 
Interim Review presentation material is available before the news conference in Internet at www.metso.com -> Investors.
 
You are most welcome to participate in the news conference or the conference call.