Stock Exchange release December 14, 2004 09:02:50 AM CET


Metso's Annual General Meeting decided on April 6th, 2004 to establish a Nomination Committee of the Annual General Meeting to prepare proposals for the following General Meeting to be held on April 4th, 2005 on the composition of the Board of Directors along with the director remuneration. The Annual General Meeting decided that the Nomination Committee would consist of the representatives of Metso's four biggest registered shareholders as of December 1st, 2004 along with the Chairman of Metso's Board of Directors as an expert member.

Metso's four biggest registered shareholders on the given date were UPM-Kymmene Corporation, State of Finland, Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company and Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company. These shareholders have chosen the following persons as their representatives on Metso's Nomination Committee: Heikki Sara (Chairman of the Nomination Committee), Executive Vice President, Strategy (UPM-Kymmene Corporation); Markku Tapio, Director General, State Shareholdings unit (State of Finland); Kari Puro, President and CEO (Ilmarinen) and Matti Vuoria, President and CEO (Varma). The Chairman of Metso's Board of Directors Matti Kavetvuo serves as the Committee's expert member.

Metso Corporation is a global supplier of process industry machinery and systems, as well as know-how and aftermarket services. The Corporation's core businesses are fiber and paper technology (Metso Paper), rock and mineral processing (Metso Minerals) and automation and control technology (Metso Automation). In 2003, the net sales of Metso Corporation were EUR 4.3 billion. Metso has approximately 23,000 employees in over 50 countries. Metso Corporation is listed on the Helsinki and New York Stock Exchanges.

Metso in Twitter